MyServerCardThe card your state actually requires
Open menu

State file

New Mexico alcohol server card

Officially the Alcohol Server Permit. Your manager probably called it server permit.

Checked
August 1, 2026

New Mexico has the broadest mandate of the states we have checked: all servers need an Alcohol Server Permit, and the rule names bartenders, waiters, bouncers, convenience store cashiers and owners. You have 30 days from being hired, the permit lasts three years, and courses run $25 to $75.

The broadest mandate of the eleven states checked: bartenders, waiters, bouncers, convenience store cashiers and owners are all covered.

The rule, field by field

RequiredYes, by law
Deadline30 days from being hired
Valid for3 years
CertificateMyServerCard has not found this published by the state
Course costCourses run $25 to $75
SourceNMAC 15.11.31 and New Mexico RLD

Does it cover you?

  • Server / waiterYesYes. The rule says all servers
  • BartenderYesYes. Bartending is service under the rule
  • Door / ID checkYesYes. Bouncers are named explicitly
  • Manager or supervisorYesYes. Owners are named too
  • Cashier (store, off-premise)YesYes. Convenience store cashiers are named explicitly
  • Busser / hostNot statedThe state does not name this job either way, so we will not guess.
  • DeliveryNot statedThe state does not name this job either way, so we will not guess.

What the other sites get wrong

The courses New Mexico approved

This is the state’s own list, not ours. We do not rank it and we do not have a favourite: the ordering rule is published in how we check.

Courses run $25 to $75

ProviderPriceFormatLanguage
Alcohol Server's Training ServicesASE-000001$35.00In personEnglishProvider site
NM Restaurant AssociationASE-000003, runs the ServSafe course for the state$30.00In person, OnlineEnglishProvider site
Way to ServeASE-000004, Wedge Communications$34.99 plus taxOnlineEnglish, SpanishProvider site
CertusASE-000006, SellerServerOnline$34.00OnlineEnglishProvider site

This is the list New Mexico RLD, ABC approved provider listing published, read on September 2, 2026, in the order the state publishes it. Prices come from the state's own listing where the state publishes them, and otherwise from each provider's page, checked September 2, 2026.

Managing a team in New Mexico? The same rule from the employer’s side: how many days you get after a hire, when the card expires, and who carries the penalty.

For employers

Common questions

I only work the door. Do I need it?

Yes. New Mexico names bouncers explicitly, along with bartenders, waiters, convenience store cashiers and owners. If you are unsure whether your job counts here, the answer is almost always yes.

Can I do the whole thing online?

Yes, including the exam. New Mexico allows it in the rule itself, which is not true everywhere: some states require a proctored or in-person exam.

Written by Luciano Canziani. Updated September 2, 2026. Every requirement above was read in NMAC 15.11.31 and New Mexico RLD on August 1, 2026. Check it yourself before you pay for anything: that is the point of publishing it.