State file
Oregon alcohol server card
Officially the OLCC Alcohol Service Permit. Your manager probably called it OLCC permit.
August 1, 2026
Oregon requires an OLCC alcohol service permit before your first shift. The 45 day grace period was removed on March 31, 2025 by HB 4138, so the course, the proctored exam and the payment all have to be done before you serve a drink. The permit lasts five years.
The rule, field by field
Does it cover you?
- Server / waiterYesYes, before your first shift
- BartenderYesYes, before your first shift
- Door / ID checkNot statedThe state does not name this job either way, so we will not guess.
- Manager or supervisorNot statedThe state does not name this job either way, so we will not guess.
- Cashier (store, off-premise)Not statedThe state does not name this job either way, so we will not guess.
- Busser / hostNot statedThe state does not name this job either way, so we will not guess.
- DeliveryNot statedThe state does not name this job either way, so we will not guess.
What the other sites get wrong
- Course, proctored exam and payment all have to be done before you serve. Pages still describing a grace period are describing the rule as it was before March 2025.
- Pages calling the OLCC permit permanent are wrong: it expires after five years.
The courses Oregon approved
This is the state’s own list, not ours. We do not rank it and we do not have a favourite: the ordering rule is published in how we check.
| Provider | Price | Format | Language | |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Oregon Alcohol Training | — | Online | English | Provider site |
| America's Alcohol Certified Education AssociationAACEA | $19.95 | Online | English | Provider site |
| ABC Server Training | $11.99 | Online | English | Provider site |
| @ A Moment's Notice | $14.99 | Online | English | Provider site |
| A+ Server Education | — | Online | English | Provider site |
| Academy of Training & Prevention | $11.95 | Online | English | Provider site |
| Craft Serving | $16.00 | Online | English | Provider site |
| Learn2Serve360training.com, Inc | — | Online | English | Provider site |
| LIQUORexam.com | — | Online | English | Provider site |
| Oregon Alcohol Server Permit TrainingHappy Hour Training | $15.00 | Online | English | Provider site |
| Oregon Restaurant & Lodging AssociationThe state restaurant association runs its own approved course | — | Online | English | Provider site |
| Professional Server Certification Corp.Rserving | $9.95 | Online | English | Provider site |
| Serving Alcohol, Inc | $14.99 | Online | English | Provider site |
| SellerServerOnlineCertus | — | Online | English | Provider site |
| TIPSTraining for Intervention Procedures, from 360training | — | Online | English | Provider site |
This is the list OLCC, online alcohol server education providers published, read on September 2, 2026, in the order the state publishes it. Prices were read on each provider's own page, checked September 2, 2026. 7 of these 15 show no price because we have not read it at the source. A dash means we do not know, not that it is free.
Managing a team in Oregon? The same rule from the employer’s side: how many days you get after a hire, when the card expires, and who carries the penalty.
For employersCommon questions
Can I start working while my permit is processed?
Not since March 31, 2025. HB 4138 removed the 45 day grace period, so the course, the exam and the payment come before your first shift. Pages still describing a grace period are describing the rule as it was before that date.
Is the OLCC permit permanent?
No. It lasts five years. The claim that it never expires is one of the six errors we found on pages ranking for this topic.
Written by Luciano Canziani. Updated September 2, 2026. Every requirement above was read in OLCC alcohol service permits on August 1, 2026. Check it yourself before you pay for anything: that is the point of publishing it.