MyServerCardThe card your state actually requires
Open menu

State file

Tennessee alcohol server card

Officially the Server permit. Your manager probably called it ABC card.

Checked
August 1, 2026

Tennessee requires a server permit for on-premise service, earned through a course of at least three and a half hours from an entity the state certified. The permit lasts five years. You get 61 days from the day you start serving, and that grace period is once in your life.

The rule, field by field

RequiredYes, by law
Deadline61 days from the day you start serving, and that grace is once in your life, not once per employer
Valid for5 years
CertificateMyServerCard has not found this published by the state
Course costA course of at least 3.5 hours from an entity certified by the Tennessee ABC
SourceTennessee ABC server permits

Does it cover you?

  • Server / waiterYesYes, for on-premise service
  • BartenderYesYes, for on-premise service
  • Door / ID checkNot statedThe state does not name this job either way, so we will not guess.
  • Manager or supervisorNot statedThe state does not name this job either way, so we will not guess.
  • Cashier (store, off-premise)Not statedThe state does not name this job either way, so we will not guess.
  • Busser / hostNot statedThe state does not name this job either way, so we will not guess.
  • DeliveryNot statedThe state does not name this job either way, so we will not guess.

What the other sites get wrong

The courses Tennessee approved

This is the state’s own list, not ours. We do not rank it and we do not have a favourite: the ordering rule is published in how we check.

A course of at least 3.5 hours from an entity certified by the Tennessee ABC

ProviderPriceFormatLanguage
TIPS360training.com—In person, OnlineEnglishProvider site
AIM To Serve—In person, OnlineEnglishProvider site
Top Notch Alcoholic TrainingD.R.A.P.E.R.'s—In personEnglishProvider site
RAJAClassroom only, by phone: 865-258-4912—In personEnglish
Server Permit Training—In person, OnlineEnglishProvider site
ServSafeNational Restaurant Association—In person, OnlineEnglishProvider site
SPIRITS—In personEnglishProvider site
Tennessee Alcohol & Beverage Academy—In personEnglishProvider site
TEAM Coalition—In personEnglishProvider site
TopShelf Responsible Beverage Service—In person, OnlineEnglishProvider site
A+ Server Education—OnlineEnglishProvider site
ABC Server Training—OnlineEnglishProvider site
Certification Experts—OnlineEnglishProvider site
Responsible Training—OnlineEnglishProvider site
RservingProfessional Server Certification Corp—OnlineEnglishProvider site
Serve Safely Tennessee—OnlineEnglishProvider site
Serving Alcohol Inc—OnlineEnglishProvider site
AboveTraining / StateFoodSafety—OnlineEnglishProvider site
Tennessee ABC Cards—OnlineEnglishProvider site
US Liquor Laws—OnlineEnglishProvider site

This is the list TABC certified server permit training programs published, read on September 2, 2026, in the order the state publishes it. 20 of these 20 show no price because we have not read it at the source. A dash means we do not know, not that it is free.

Managing a team in Tennessee? The same rule from the employer’s side: how many days you get after a hire, when the card expires, and who carries the penalty.

For employers

Common questions

I changed jobs. Do I get another 61 days?

No, and this is the part nobody explains. The 61 day grace is once in your life, not once per employer. If you used it at your first serving job, you need the permit in hand before you start at the next one.

Can I take any course?

It has to be at least three and a half hours long and run by an entity the Tennessee ABC certified. A course that satisfies another state's requirement does not satisfy this one.

What we still do not know

Written by Luciano Canziani. Updated September 2, 2026. Every requirement above was read in Tennessee ABC server permits on August 1, 2026. Check it yourself before you pay for anything: that is the point of publishing it.